{sun}day funday: wallingford edition

A beautiful, PNW spring day with nearly 70 degree weather and sunshine couldn’t be wasted! So I took a short bus ride to Wallingford (north central Seattle) with some really great people. (Shout out to my Delta Sigma Pi bros for going on this adventure with me!)
Wallingford

We started out by going to a tried and true favorite ramen restaurant, Ramen Man. The signage makes me happy and you definitely won’t miss it along the busy main street it’s located on.
RamenMan

Ramen portions are filling, all under $10 unless you choose add-ons, and are served with unlimited boiled eggs.
Menu

I tried the Garlic Tori-Paitan Ramen which wasn’t as overwhelming as it sounds. The broth is both creamy and rich. If you really like char siu, I would recommend adding extra because there are only a few pieces.

While wandering around the Wallingford Center, we met Debbie – the owner of an adorable, tiny vintage shop called Indie Frock. Debbie was really sweet and even posed for me to take a shot of her in the beautifully decorated shop she created to resell all sorts of boho goodies. (Really loved her distressed denim and the flower crown!) You can like the shop’s Facebook page here!
IndieFrock IndieFrock2
The shop is small enough that I fit it all in this shot!
IndieFrock3

Side note: I love thrifting and some of my favorite pieces are either vintage or from recycled clothing stores. I’ve come across some ridiculous deals – thinking that will be in an upcoming post if anyone’s interested! One man’s trash really is another man’s treasure.

The Trophy Cupcakes shop inside has some rooms for parties and just for enjoying your cupcake and the decor is too cute. The different themes are all up my alley – in fact, some of this seems familiar…does my room resemble  a cupcake shop?!  Maybe.

Next stop, we tried the churros at TNT Taqueria, that offers taco truck foods in a small restaurant setting. For those of you that care, TNT uses environmentally friendly packaging and gets ingredients from local farmers. They even use grass fed beef and other quality ingredients. Sadly, the only other churros I’ve had are from Disneyland and Costco. Actually, I happen to love both of those places and find happiness in either so it’s not so sad. However in terms of churro quality, TNT’s definitely beats theirs. (Duh.) You won’t get your churro right away because they make them fresh and it’ll be piping hot when you get it. The outside is crispy and has plenty of sugar and cinnamon while the inside is doughy and very light and airy.
TNT
Churros3
Churros
(Doesn’t this signage just make you happy? It makes me happy. Anything handwritten/painted..I love it. Also $1 churros, yes.)
Churros2

Another “must have” in Wallingford that I’ve heard so much about is this gelato shop, Fainting Goat. You can buy handcrafted gelato and even molten lava cakes here from 12-10 PM daily. I tried my friend’s coconut gelato and it was very rich and creamy, as gelato should be. The extra kick that it had was actual coconut shavings that tasted fresh, not processed. If you’re into rich sweet treats, I would recommend Molly Moons too – there’s a location right on the same street in Wallingford!
Fainting Goat

I’m not much of a sock person, however I know plenty of people who are and I do have to admit, if I were okay with spending this much on socks, I would be coming to this store a lot in the future. The store has exactly what you’d expect from looking at the sign above the door:
Socks

You will find literally any type of sock you can think of. All different lengths, sizes, and designs. They sell men’s, women’s, unisex, children, even baby socks. I saw leggings, leg warmers, and even tights. If you like Strideline socks, they have them too! Below is only a tiny portion of the selection they have. For not being a “sock person”, this store makes me want to be. I just have to justify paying around $10 for a pair of socks. Maybe one day. But if you’re scrambling to find a gift for someone, this is a great place to get started.

Socks2

Check out the fun dinosaur socks that my friends bought!

Socks3
Our last stop was a record store, where we spotted this on the side of the building. The store is said to be open 363 days out of the year for 40 years! We took a fun shot in front of it: (Thanks Lander!)
beatles

{o u t f i t | d e t a i l s}
ootd
Top|H&M. Denim jacket|A&F. Skirt|Boutique in Las Vegas. Booties|CottonOn. Tote|Longchamp.

Signature.jpg

One thought on “{sun}day funday: wallingford edition

Leave some love

