Happy Hour at McMenamin’s & Gustavs

Some sporadic sunshine throughout the past week (thanks, PNW) prompted a happy hour trip to the McMenamins on the Columbia with two of my childhood best friends. We aren’t 21 yet but there are still some tasty happy hour treats for less than $5 to enjoy! They require a $2 beverage order with all happy hour food. The last time I went for happy hour, I got the cajun tots (aย huge basket for $2!) and tiny slider ($3 – not worth it, I would pay $1 tops). But I was in the mood for something less heavy so I ended up ordering the kale caesar salad and a lemonade. View the HH menu here.

The weather was so nice that we got to sit on the patio! Then we walked along the riverfront and I snapped a few photos of the pretty water and my pretty friend :) Meet Dara!

Instagram-ing, naturally.

I also had to get fondue at Gustavs again before I head back to Seattle. There are only a few locations around WA and OR and they serve authentic German/European food. You can view the happy hour menu here. The location in Vancouver has great service and the wait time isn’t too bad. Check out the fun interior!
1

I really enjoy the original fondue but this time, we tried a few new things: chicken schnitzel, pesto fondue with grilled bread & bier sausage, and fries with original swiss fondue and mushrooms.

This is nice and crispy on the outside and was pretty good but it's fairly bland after you eat the fondues, which are really salty. It tastes good with the fondue actually!

This is nice and crispy on the outside and was pretty good but it’s fairly bland after you eat the fondues, which are really salty. It tastes good with the fondue actually!

So. Good. The grilled bread is already buttered so it's extra delicious being dipped into the fondue.

So. Good.
The grilled bread is already buttered so it’s extra delicious being dipped into the fondue.

These are so yummy! Fries with the original swiss fondue poured over with mushrooms. Reminds me of poutine, without the cheese curds. Gets messy towards the bottom but perfect if you use a fork.

These are so yummy! Fries with the original swiss fondue poured over with mushrooms. Reminds me of poutine, without the cheese curds. Gets messy towards the bottom but perfect if you use a fork.

Lastly, here’s a preview of my new booties that I purchased as a post-finals treat. The best part about them is that they were 70% off retail price (!!)ย I’ll be reviewing them in my next postย which will go live in a few days so stay tuned!

Thanks for all the support and positive feedback! I’ve been having so much fun blogging. Without you, I wouldn’t have hit 1K hits within my second week of blogging so thanks for stopping by!
Signature.jpg

One thought on “Happy Hour at McMenamin’s & Gustavs

Leave some love

